Breaking News

Afghanistan name 17-member squad for Asia Cup 2023

Afghanistan name 17-member squad for Asia Cup 2023

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) have announced their 17-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2023. The tournament is all set to begin on August 30 and will be co-hosted by Sri Lanka and Pakistan. With the competition approaching, the various sides competing will be keen on putting in their best performances and clinch the coveted title. 

Hashmatullah Shahidi would be leading the side in the marquee event. Furthermore, Karim Janat and Azmatullah Omarzai have been brought back while experienced players like Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, who were injured and missed out the Pakistan ODIs due to the same reason,n make their way back into the squad as well. Apart from the brilliant talents in the batting department, the bowling attack will be led by the likes of Rashid Khan, Fazalhaq Farooqi, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Afghanistan aim to forget Pakistan series loss

It is worth noting that Afghanistan will be coming into the Asia Cup 2023 on the back of an ODI series loss against Pakistan. The side came close to winning the second game but eventually lost a dramatic game by a margin of one wicket. Afghanistan lost the other games by margins of 142 runs (first ODI) and 59 runs (third ODI) to face 0-3 defeat.

As for their Asia Cup 2023 campaign, they are placed in Group B alongside Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. They start their campaign against Bangladesh on Sunday, September 3 at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. They will play Sri Lanka at the same venue on September 5.

Afghanistan squad for Asia Cup 2023

Hashmatullah Shahidi (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Riaz Hasan, Ikram Ali Khil, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Abdul Rahman, Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Suliman Safi, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Noor Ahmed

Doonited Affiliated: Syndicate News Hunt

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: