October 19, 2021

Breaking News

It’s game on in Bhabanipur: Didi leads by more than 31,000 votes at 10th round

It’s game on in Bhabanipur: Didi leads by more than 31,000 votes at 10th round

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee was leading by 27,502 votes against her closest contender, Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Priyanka Tibrewal, at the end of the eighth round of counting of votes polled at the byelection to Bhabanipur assembly constituency  on Sunday. 

However, media outlets reporting from the ground said Mamata Banerjee was leading by 31,645 votes in the 10th round, although the Election Commission was yet to officially confirm the data.

The Trinamool Congress supremo was in the fray from the Bhabanipur assembly seat with BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal and CPM’s Shrijeeb Biswas.

According to the latest data by the Election Commission, Mamata Banerjee got 34,721 votes against Priyanka Tibrewal’s 7,219 votes while Shrijeeb Biswas got 755 votes at the end of the eighth round of counting for the Bhabanipur assembly bypolls.

Trinamool Congress workers and supporters broke into celebrations outside the chief minister’s residence as the margin by which Mamata Banerjee led grew with each round of counting.

Read Also  Bhabanipur by-poll: BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal writes to HC over fear of violence

The bypoll to Bhabanipur assembly constituency was necessitated after Trinamool Congress MLA Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay vacated the seat after the assembly elections earlier this year, to pave way from party supremo Mamata Banerjee to contest the bypoll to retain her chief ministerial post.

Even though Trinamool Congress came back to power in West Bengal for the third consecutive time following a landslide victory in the assembly elections, Mamata Banerjee faced defeat in the Nandigram assembly constituency against her former protégé Suvendu Adhikari by a thin margin of 1,956 votes. A former state minister and a close aide of Mamata Banerjee, Adhikari switched to BJP ahead of the West Bengal assembly elections.

Mamata Banerjee has to win on any seat in the state to have the chance of becoming a member of the state assembly, and retain the chief minister’s post, before November 5.

ALSO READ | At 53.32%, Bhabanipur bypoll sees low voter turnout

The BJP fielded Priyanka Tibrewal, the vice-president of the party’s state youth wing, against the chief minister in the Trinamool Congress bastion. Tibrewal played a key role in the BJP’s battle in the Calcutta high court on alleged post-poll violence, which led a five-judge bench to order for a probe by Central Bureau of Investigation. Tibrewal had contested from Entally seat in the assembly elections, but lost to Trinamool’s Swarna Kamal Saha by more than 58,000 votes.

Read Also  ‘This is a crime’: Mamata Banerjee’s shrill attack over floods in 9 districts

Meanwhile, Priyanka Tibrewal wrote to the Calcutta high court ahead of the counting, casting aspersions over “post-poll violence”, and seeking preventive measures. A clash reportedly broke out between the supporters of the Trinamool Congress and the BJP on the day of polling.

Trinamool’s Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay won the assembly polls from Bhabanipur constituency by 28,719 votes earlier this year. But, Mamata Banerjee has crossed that margin as she was leading by 31,645 votes in the 10th round of counting.

Along with Bhabanipur, bypolls were also held in two other assembly constituencies in West Bengal, including Jangipur and Samserganj assembly constituencies on September 30. The Trinamool Congress was leading in all the three seats, latest data from the Election Commission show.

The counting for the bypolls began at 8am on Sunday amid tight security. Twenty four companies of central forces have been deployed at the counting centres, and the entire area has been put under CCTV surveillance. Poll officials were allowed inside the counting centre with only pen and paper and only the returning officer and observer are allowed to use phones.

Read Also  IMD issues alerts for heavy rain in north Bengal

The counting will be held in 21 rounds for the Bhabanipur constituency, 26 rounds for Samserganj and 24 rounds for the Jangipur constituency at Sakhawat Memorial School in Kolkata.

Doonited Affiliated: Syndicate News Hunt

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Content Protector Developer Fantastic Plugins
%d bloggers like this: