October 27, 2021

Breaking News

English County Championship returns to two-division format

English County Championship returns to two-division format

The English County Championship will return to a two-division structure from next season after two coronavirus-affected campaigns, the England and Wales Cricket Board announced on Thursday.

The Bob Willis Trophy was introduced in 2020 and a three-group structure used for this year’s first-class competition.

Next year, 10 teams will play in division one and eight teams in division two, with a two-up, two-down promotion-and-relegation system.

Each county will be placed into the division they would have been set to compete in had the 2020 County Championship taken place.

ALSO READ | T20 World Cup 2021: Finch confident of Australia’s success; Williamson seeks early momentum

Lancashire, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire won promotion to Division One and Nottinghamshire were relegated to Division Two.

The return to two divisions, with each team playing 14 matches, was voted through by the first-class counties.

Division One: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Division Two: Derbyshire, Durham, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire

Read Also  Sinner beats Schwartzman in straight sets to clinch title in Antwerp

Doonited Affiliated: Syndicate News Hunt

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Content Protector Developer Fantastic Plugins
%d bloggers like this: